Why you should stop sharing your Netflix password now

We’ve all been guilty of sharing our Netflix accounts with our family and friends.

And while it can be annoying when too many people are logged into one user – preventing the person who actually pays for the account from using the streaming service at that moment in time – it’s always been a sneaky yet great way for those who don’t quite want to commit to their own subscription to reap the benefits regardless. Until now that is.

sharing Netflix accounts
Getty Images

A British technology firm named Synamedia has discovered a new Al software that could potentially track down and expose Netflix users who share their password with others – yes, seriously.

Synamedia, which has recently received an investment from Sky, revealed and showcased the new technology at the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas and if it gets developed, many of us will have to start actually paying for our own Netflix subscriptions soon.

‘The new security software combats the rapid rise in account sharing between friends and families, turning it instead into a new revenue-generating opportunity for operators,’ the company explained.

Al is machine learning and behavioural analytics which the new software is using to identify, monitor and analyse the way users share their Netflix log in details. The streaming service will then be able to contact their customers to suggest they upgrade their account or in extreme cases, terminate their account.

sharing Netflix accounts
Alamy Stock Photos

Speaking to The Verge, Synamedia’s CTO, Jean-Marc Racine said: ‘A typical pattern would be you have a subscriber that is simultaneously watching content on the East Coast and West Coast of the US.’

Netflix has not yet confirmed whether they will be investing in the new software or not. But as you can expect, not every one wants them to do so – for obvious reasons.