There are actually 13 star signs on the zodiac – and yours might have changed

Whether you live by your horoscope, or just read it in your favourite magazine every week for a bit of fun, you probably know quite about about the star sign you were born under. But now the ‘discovery’ of a new, thirteenth star sign called Ophiuchus is throwing the current system into disarray.

new star sign
Getty Images

Why is there a new star sign?

According to a recently resurfaced blog post from NASA, which actually dates back to 2016 but has begun circulating once again, more than 3,000 years ago the Babylonians came up with the system for star signs we currently follow, dividing the zodiac into 12 equal parts (‘like cutting a pizza into 12 equal slices,’ NASA notes), to work with the 12 month calendar.

‘But even according to the Babylonians’ own ancient stories, there were 13 constellations in the zodiac,’ the post explains. ‘So the Babylonians picked one, Ophiuchus, to leave out. Even then, some of the chosen 12 didn’t fit neatly into their assigned slice of the pie and slopped over into the next one.’

‘The constellations are different sizes and shapes, so the Sun spends different lengths of time lined up with each one. The line from Earth through the Sun points to Virgo for 45 days, but it points to Scorpius for only 7 days. To make a tidy match with their 12-month calendar, the Babylonians ignored the fact that the Sun actually moves through 13 constellations, not 12.’

However, the earth’s shifting axis means that constellations relating to our star signs have since moved, and as this information comes to light, more and more people are considering recognising Ophiuchus as a valid star sign in its own right; a development that’s proving divisive among astrologers and the general public alike.

Why? Because including it in the zodiac means the the star sign you’ve been following may not actually be your star sign anymore…

The 13 star signs of the zodiac

13 signs of the zodiac
Getty Images

If Ophiuchus is included in the zodiac, all of the dates of existing star signs change, and those born between 30 November and 17 December claim this new sign as their own.

Here’s what the signs look like under this new set-up:

Capricorn: 20 January-16 February

Aquarius: 17 February-11 March

Pisces: 12 March-18 April

Aries: 19 April-13 May

Taurus: 14 May-21 June

Gemini: 22 June-20 July

Cancer: 21 July-10 August

Leo: 10 August 16 September

Virgo: 17 September-30 October

Libra: 31 October-23 November

Scorpio: 24 November-29 November

Ophiuchus: 30 November-17 December

Sagittarius: 18 December-20 January

What are the personality traits of the Ophiuchus star sign?

If you’re anything like us, you’re probably intrigued to research your new sign already – but as it’s not included in most traditional guides, what are those born under the sign of Ophiuchus supposedly like?

Ophiuchus symbol
Getty Images

The name Ophiuchus translates for the Greek for ‘serpent bearer’, and the experts at Astrology42 say it’s a middle ground of typical Scorpio and Sagittarius traits; slightly mysterious and secretive, very wise, charismatic, rebellious, and fiercely independent.

If you’re born under Ophiuchus, Astrology Bay also says that you’re intelligent, have a good sense of humour and are very creative, although on the less desirable side, you can be impulsive, blunt and easily affected by jealousy.

Sound familiar? It’s possible that you relate to Ophiuchus more than your previous sign; whether you adopt it as your chosen sign after this is up to you…