Dull winter wardrobes begone! How to put the cool into cosy

Put a new spin on the winter knit!

Now that we are fully submerged in the winter weather, we tend to automatically reach for our trusty, but often boring, knitwear. In this exclusive YOU fashion shoot, we show you how to layer playful bright knits and bold florals to brighten up your wardrobe – no longer does the cold weather have to compromise your style. Whether you like your knits oversized for the cosy-cocooning-effect, or fitted and figure embracing, we have you covered! 

Top Tip: Want more layers? Add colourful sheepskin jacket and matching accessories. 

Sheepskin jacket, £1,199, Whistles. Dress, £530, Preen Line. Boots, £55, River Island

Jumper (made from kit), £134, Wool and the Gang. Skirt, £835, Preen by Thornton Bregazzi

Dress, £1,900, Delam. Earrings, £250, Sarah & Sebastian, from net-a-porter.com. Bracelet, £135, Cornelia Webb

Coat, £1,450, Preen by Thornton Bregazzi. jumper, £270, Zoë Jordan. Trousers, £248, Masscob, from matchesfashion.com. Boots, £49, Topshop

Dress, £495, Kenzo. Top, £700, Delam. Bag, £625, Rag & Bone. Socks, £13, Falke. Shoes, £675, Christian Louboutin

Sheepskin coat, £1,185, Saks Potts, from brownsfashion.com. Dress, £1,570, Marni. Earrings, £350, Sarah & Sebastian, from net-a-porter.com

Jumper, £940; Skirt, £1,310, and Knickers (just seen), £350, all Mulberry. Earrings, £73, Maria Black. Bag, £515, Manu Atelier

Striped body, £495, Belize. Earrings, £225, Allison Bryan

Top, price on request, and Skirt, £375, both Pringle of Scotland. Earrings, £135, Monica Vinader. Scarf, £350, Loewe, from brownsfashion.com

Contributing fashion editor Hannah Hughes

Photographs Rhys Frampton

Fashion assistants Joanne Toolan and Grace Clarke

Make-up Nicky Weir using Trish McEvoy Beauty

Hair Davide Barbieri at Caren using Kevin Murphy

Model Mariana Pardinho at Storm Model Management

Producer Lucy Coghlan

Location thanks to JJ Media


Stockists

Allison Bryan, allisonbryan.co.uk

Belize, belizeofficiel.com

Christian Louboutin, christianlouboutin.com

Cornelia Webb, corneliawebb.com

Delam, delamlondon.com

Falke, falke.com

Kenzo, kenzo.com

Manu Atelier, manuatelier.com

Maria Black, maria-black.com

Marni, marni.com

Monica Vinader, monicavinader.com

Mulberry, mulberry.com

Preen by Thornton Bregazzi, preenbythorntonbregazzi.com

Preen Line, preenbythorntonbregazzi.com

Pringle of Scotland, pringlescotland.com

Rag & Bone, rag-bone.com

River Island, riverisland.com

Roksanda, 020 7613 6499

Teatum Jones, teatumjones.com

Topshop, topshop.com

Whistles, whistles.com

Wool and the Gang, woolandthegang.com 

Zoe Jordan, zoe-jordan.com