This is how you can get 11 days off work for Christmas using just four holiday days

Now that it’s autumn, Christmas is fast approaching and it’s time to plan how we’ll be spending the festive season.

If you work in a job that’s flexible enough to allow you to have time off, you probably don’t want to find yourself working during the week between Christmas and New Year’s Day. And while we’ve no doubt all had to do it before at some stage, there’s a nice and simple way to avoid doing so this year – without using up all of your annual leave.

Getty Images

As you may know, Christmas Day falls on a Tuesday in this time around, and after reviewing the December 2018/January 2019 calendar, we’ve discovered a clever hack to help you make the most of your Christmas break.

For most of us, Monday 24 December (Christmas Eve) is a working day, which is then followed by two bank holidays (Christmas Day and Boxing Day). Thursday 27th and Friday 28th are then classed as normal working days before we’re met with the weekend. The following Monday (31 December) is New Year’s Eve, which is also considered a normal working day, while Tuesday 1 January (New Year’s Day) is yet another bank holiday.

Getty Images

Therefore, most people are expected to head back to work on the days between Boxing Day and New Year’s Day –  Monday 24th December, Thursday 27th December, Friday 28th December and Monday 31st December. However, if you book these four days off as annual leave, you’ll end up with 11 uninterrupted days off for the Christmas period, which  quite frankly sounds like a major win.

For those who have extra holiday days, why not book the last three days of the first week of the new year (Wednesday 2nd January, Thursday 3rd January and Friday 4th January) off too?. That way, you get 16 days off in a row by using up just seven days of annual leave.

Talk about a Merry Christmas!